20th Amendment to the Constitution gazetted

20th Amendment to the Constitution gazetted

The 20th Amendment to the Constitution has been gazetted.

According to it, some of the amendments that are being considered are as follows.

Certain clauses have been re-introduced in connection with the President’s immunity, which was restricted by Article 19 of the Constitution.

The Constitutional Council is different from the parliamentary council, and the members of the House are the Prime Minister, the Speaker, the Leader of the Opposition, the Member of Parliament appointed by the Prime Minister and the Member of Parliament appointed by the Leader of the Opposition.

The current active members of the Constituent Assembly include a representative of the President and three members of civil society.

But the House of Representatives does not include the president’s representative and the three civil society representatives.

Two commissions have been abolished by the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

The two commissions are the National Audit Commission and the Procurement Commission.

Although the 20th Amendment removes the fact that the President is accountable to Parliament, the President is accountable to Parliament for public safety.

The new draft states that the president will be a member of the cabinet as well as the head.

The new amendment also states that the President will remain in office despite the dissolution of the Cabinet.

The current position is that the President should appoint the Cabinet on the instructions of the Prime Minister.

However, the 20th Amendment to the Constitution states that the President may, if he so wishes, appoint the Cabinet after consulting the Prime Minister.

Cabinet restrictions introduced by the 19th Amendment have been removed by the 20th Amendment.

Accordingly, the power to decide the number of Cabinet Members, the number of Ministries, the subjects is vested in the President.

The president can also take over any subject or task and has the ability to change ministers, subjects as well as composition.

The amendment applies to cabinet, non-cabinet and deputy ministers.

The new constitutional amendment also empowers the president to remove the prime minister.

The constitution states that parliament cannot be dissolved until four and a half years have passed.

But the 20th Amendment allows the president to dissolve it a year after parliament convenes.

The current constitution states that a citizen of Sri Lanka who is also a citizen of another country cannot hold a seat in Parliament.

But that clause has been removed from the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

Leave your comment