No change in Govt: SB

No change in Govt: SB

Minister S.B. Dissanayake said yesterday there would not be any change of government and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa would continue in his post.

He told a news conference held at the parliament complex that the prime minister would not be replaced.

“There are no vacancies for a Prime Minister or ministers in the government. No other person will be appointed to that post. This government will continue,”

Mr. Dissanayake said.

He said the Speaker could not play around with a government appointed by the President and that they were awaiting the Supreme Court verdict on the dissolution of parliament.

Mr. Dissanayake said they would go for an election, if the SC ruling says so.

“We will be able to form a government at an election while the UNP will be reduced to 65 seats, Hakeem to three seats, Bathiudeen to two, the TNA to 13, TPA will lose its seats and Digambaram will win one seat,”

he said. (Ajith Siriwardana and Yohan Perera)