SLFP not involved in chaotic scenes in Parliament- Dayasiri

SLFP not involved in chaotic scenes in Parliament- Dayasiri

United People’s Freedom Alliance Member of Parliament Dayasiri Jayasekera says the Sri Lanka Freedom Party members were not involved in today’s, what he termed as ugly scenes in Parliament.

Speaking to media MP Dayasiri Jayasekera said it is disappointing to observe members acting in an unruly manner within the Parliament chamber. He said SLFP MPs were attempting to defuse the situation.

MP Dayasiri Jayasekera added no one should be allowed to destroy the parliamentary democracy.

A No-Confidence Motion against Mahinda Rajapaksa and his government was passed in Parliament today.

Patali Champika Ranawaka said the motion was passed with a majority during this afternoon’s parliamentary session.

He said Parliamentarian MA Sumanthiran proposed to suspend standing orders in the house. He said subsequently the motion was passed with a majority.

With Parliament scheduled to take up a No-Confidence Motion against Mahinda Rajapaksha, United People’s Freedom Alliance Parliamentarians today surrounded the Speaker’s chair to delay the proceeding.

An unruly scene was witnessed in Parliament this afternoon as UPFA Parliamentarians were witnessed chanting slogans in the Parliament chamber even prior to the commencement of the scheduled session. UPFA MP Arundika Fernando was occupying the seat of the Speaker surrounded by UPFA MPs. Parliament was due to convene at 1:30pm today.

In a rare scene in the parliamentary history, several police officers entered the Parliament chamber escorting the mace and Speaker of House Karu Jayasuriya. However MPs continued to disrupt proceedings with Lobby correspondent saying, several objects were hurled at the Speaker.

The chair of the Speaker was also displaced as Speaker Karu Jayasuriya was forced to conduct the proceedings away from his official seat. Following a brief parliamentary session amidst the commotion, Speaker Jayasuriya suspended the session.

Accordingly Parliament will reconvene on Monday.

Speaking to media, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam said the Mahinda Rajapaksha faction did not have a majority in Parliament and therefore the UPFA MPs disrupted proceedings for the third consecutive day.

Meanwhile, lobby correspondent said several members of parliament were injured during the commotion.

MPs Gamini Jayawickrema Perera and Vijitha Herath were treated for injuries within the parliamentary complex.