Tag: Buwaneka Aluwihare

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna

Vardict On SLPP Maharagama And Thiruppane Nomination Lists To Be Delivered Today

Vardict on SLPP Maharagama and Thiruppane nomination lists to be delivered today The verdict regarding the FR filed by the Sri Lanka Podu Jana Peramuna (SLPP) against their party nomination list for the Maharagama and Thiruppane will be delivered today (19). The case was taken up for hearing yesterday in front of the bench of three judges comprising Priyasath Dep, Buwaneka Aluwihare and Nalin Perera. The SLP filed a petition before the Supreme Court on January 08, against the rejection of their party nomination list for the Panadura, Weligama and Thiruppane Local Government bodies. Accordingly the petition was filed by SLPP Secretary Attorney-at-law Sagara Kariyawasam. Eight persons including Election Commission chairman Mahinda Deshapriya have been named as respondents of the petition. The Party’s nomination for Thiruppane Local Government body was rejected by the District Returning Officers stating that the documents were not properly certified. The petitioners requested the SC to issue an interim order preventing the holding of elections in the three LG bodies until hearing of the petition concludes. The nomination lists of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) for several Local Government bodies were rejected, according to Returning Officers earlier last month. The Joint Opposition led by former President Mahinda Rajapaksa is contesting the upcoming election as the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, under the “flower bud” symbol

Read More
President Maithripala Sirisena

President’s Official Term Is 5 Years- Supreme Court

President’s official term is 5 years- Supreme Court The Supreme Court has informed President Maithripala Sirisena that his official term is five years. The announcement was made by the President’s Media Division in a message on Twitter. The President had requested the Supreme Court’s interpretation on whether his official term was five or six years according to the 19th Amendment. The interpretation pertaining to Article 32 of the Constitution, on the Executive President’s term was deliberated by a five member Supreme Court bench headed by Chief Justice Priyasath Dep and Judges Eva Wanasundera, KT Chitrasiri, Buwaneka Aluwihare and Sisira De Abrew last Thursday. In a letter, Registrar of the Supreme Court MM Jayasekara directed the Sri Lanka Bar Association to take action based on the request made by President Maithripala Sirisena. The President made the inquiry in terms of Article 129(1) of the Constitution and has referred whether in terms of provisions of the Constitution, the President having assumed office in terms of Article 32(1) of the Constitution on the 9th of January 2015, has any impediment to continue in the office of President for a period of 6 years, from the 9th of January 2015 – the date on which the result of his election to the office of President was declared. Following the enactment of the 1978 Constitution, two six-year terms were assigned to an Executive President. However following the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, the term of the Executive was reduced to five years.

Read More